« Bailout Can Still Be Defeated: Call or Email Now | Main | NM-01: New Heinrich Ad Goes After White's Dismal Record »

Monday, September 29, 2008

NM-03: Lujan Endorsed by All Indian Pueblo Council

LogoBen Ray Luján announced the endorsement of the All Indian Pueblo Council in his race for Congress in New Mexico's 3rd Congressional District.

"I'm honored by the endorsement of the All Indian Pueblo Council," said Luján. "I look forward to working with the pueblos and standing up for them in Congress."

Luján has been a strong ally of tribal governments. As a Public Regulation Commissioner, he worked with the commission to adopt a resolution for the PRC to officially recognize a government-to-government relationship concerning regulatory processes with sovereign Indian Nations. He also worked with a Native American liaison to establish open communication between state and tribal governments.

Prior to the endorsement, Luján delivered a speech to the All Indian Pueblo Council at the University of New Mexico.

"If elected to Congress, I will be a strong advocate to protect and sustain cultural diversity and tribal sovereignty," said Luján. "I am committed to supporting legislation that fully funds the Indian Health Service and to expand health services for Native Americans."

Luján speaking at Obama rally in Espanola

Joe Garcia, Chairman of the All Indian Pueblo Council, recognized Lujan's commitment and values.

"Ben Ray Luján comes in the true spirit, values, beliefs and principles that come from the heart," said Garcia. "That is what the Native Americans are about. When in Congress, he will do a great job. We are proud to endorse him."

The All Indian Pueblo Council is made up of the 19 pueblos, including 15 in the 3rd Congressional District. The Council's mission is to promote justice and encourage the common welfare and to foster the social and economic advancement of all the Pueblos Indians, and to preserve and protect our common interest.

Technorati Tags:

September 29, 2008 at 10:31 AM in Native Americans, NM-03 Congressional Seat 2008 | Permalink


Post a comment