« RSVP Now for 2nd Annual Equality Ball on 4/28 | Main | See Greg Palast in Santa Fe 4/29 »

Tuesday, April 17, 2007

NM Dems' 2008 Delegate Selection Plan Available for Public Comment

KickerFrom the Democratic Party of New Mexico: Democrats Encouraged to Review Delegate Plan and Participate in Process

Albuquerque NM – The Democratic Party of New Mexico has posted its Delegate Selection Plan for 2008 on-line for a 30 day public comment period. The plan may be downloaded from the Party’s website by clicking here.

New Mexico’s 2008 Delegate Selection Plan outlines the processes by which presidential candidates and candidates for delegate positions must file their respective statements of candidacy.  New Mexico’s Democratic delegation consists of 42 total delegates and alternates, some of whom are elected from each congressional district based on the performance of the Democratic presidential candidates in the February 5, 2008 Democratic presidential preference primary, which will be run by the Democratic Party of New Mexico.

The Plan also highlights Democrat’s efforts to include constituency communities who may have been historically under-represented in party affairs and sets Affirmative Action goals for delegates to the Democratic National Convention, which will be held in Denver, Colorado starting on August 25, 2008.  Eleven members of New Mexico’s delegation to the Democratic National Convention are automatic delegates by virtue of their current or previously held elected offices.

Democrats without Internet access may request a copy from the Democratic Party of New Mexico by phone, fax or postal mail at the following:.

Democratic Party of New Mexico
1301 San Pedro NE
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Phone: (505) 830-3650
Fax: (505) 830-3645

Please send public comment to info@nmdemocrats.org with "Public Comment on Delegate Selection Plan" in the subject heading.

The 2008 Delegate Selection plan will be considered on April 28, 2007 by the State Central Committee and forwarded with any public comments received, to the Democratic National Committee’s Rules and Bylaws Committee.

Contact:  Matt Farrauto   505-830-3650 x21 (office)   505-830-3645 (fax)   

April 17, 2007 at 09:14 AM in 2008 Democratic Convention, Democratic Party | Permalink


Post a comment