

## The Council of the City of Albuquerque

October 17, 2011

WHEREAS, We know exactly what the protesters mean when they say we are the 99%.; and

WHEREAS, Albuquerqueans know that being the 99% also means dealing with the historical legacy of occupation by foreign powers in pursuit of profit; being targeted today by polluting industries; and watching our tax dollars go to bail out wealthy corporations while young people can't afford to go to college; and

WHEREAS, The demands of this movement are the longstanding demands of all who organize for social justice, for the rights of children, for working families, for people of color, for immigrants, for the elderly, for indigenous nations who know all too well what occupation really means; and

WHEREAS, By contrast we know the 1% as well - or at least, we know them from a distance. They are the special 1% of our economic system that amasses tremendous wealth, and doesn't have to pay its fair share of taxes, that never struggles with joblessness, criminalization, poor education, or a broken health care system; and

WHEREAS, They are the special class that gets bailed out when their financial ship begins to sink, then thumb their noses at the thought of paying their fair share of taxes, or making a few fixes to protect our families from the mad swings of unchecked greed, all the while their protectors in government threaten to slash our social safety nets and squeeze the programs that foster our local economies; and

WHEREAS, The City of Albuquerque supports and affirms the vision of the 'occupy wall street' movement, which began as a center of struggle on Wall Street in New York City and has now grown to over 800 cities and towns throughout the country, including here in New Mexico; Albuquerque, Santa Fe, Las Cruces, Taos, Carlsbad, Roswell and Farmington.

BE IT PROCLAIMED THAT THE COUNCIL, THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE, HEREBY RECOGNIZES

## WE ARE THE 99% AND WE STAND WITH THE OCCUPY WALL STREET MOVEMENT

	<u> </u>
Ken Sanchez	Debbie O'Malley
District 1	District 2
District 1	District 2
Isaac Benton	Brad Winter
District 3	District 4
2.30.00	2.33 <b>4.44</b>
Dan Lewis	Rey Garduño, Vice-President
District 5	District 6
Michael D. Cook	Trudy E. Jones
District 7	District 8
Don Harris, President	_
District 9	