« 9/17: ABQ Matanza Supporting Hector Balderas for Senate | Main | 9/16: Heinrich Hosts Job Hunters Boot Camp Today from 3-7 PM in ABQ »

Friday, September 16, 2011

REMINDER: Big Rally Saturday 9/17 for Jobs Not Cuts! at Roundhouse in Santa Fe

As I posted earlier this week, MoveOn New Mexico, the Northern New Mexico Central Labor Council (NNMCLC); the American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees (AFSCME); the Communications Workers of America (CWA) and 1199 National Union of Hospital and Health Care Employees are holding a big rally this Saturday to push Gov. Susana Martinez and the NM Legislature to focus on legislation designed to create jobs in the state. Click for flyer (pdf).

The event is set for Saturday, September 17, at 1:00 PM at the east side of the Roundhouse in Santa Fe. Anyone and everyone concerned with the question "WHERE ARE THE JOBS?" is urged to attend. Click to RSVP.

Speakers will include:

  • Mayor David Coss, MC
  • NM U.S. Congressional Delegation, Statements from Offices of:
    • U. S. Senator Jeff Bingaman
    • U. S. Senator Tom Udall
    • U. S. Representative Ben Ray Lujan
    • U. S. Representative Martin Heinreich
  • NM State Auditor Hector Balderas (tentative)
  • Jon Hendry, President, NM Federation of Labor
  • Allen Sanchez, Executive Director, NM Conference of Catholic Bishops
  • State Representative Sheryl Williams Stapleton, Bernallilo County House Majority Whip
  • Jennifer Garcia, President, Northern NM Central Labor Council
  • Cathy Townes, AFSCME
  • Carter Bundy, AFSCME NM Legislative Director
  • Robert Chavez, AFSCME
  • Miles Conway, CWA
  • State Representative Miguel Garcia,  Bernallilo County Chair Labor
  • Marcella Diaz, Director, Somos Un Pueblo Unido
  • State Representative Eleanor Chavez, Bernallilo County Vice Chair Labor Committee
  • Dr. Wanda Ross Padilla, NAACP lst Vice President
  • Delma Delora, National Union of Hospital and Health Care Employees 1199
  • Santa Fe County Commissioner Kathy Holian (Labor)
  • Cheryl Bumpus, President, NEA Santa Fe
  • Calloway Bastien, SFCC Student Ambassador
  • State Representative Ken Martinez, Cibolla, McKinley, and San Juan Counties, House Majority Floor Leader
  • State Representative Rick Miera,  Bernallilo County Member Labor Committee
  • Craig Barnes, Director, We Are People Here
  • State Senator Peter Wirth,  Vice Chair, Judiciary Committee
  • State Representative Brian Egolf, Santa Fe County, Chair, Energy and Natural Resources Committee
  • Todd MacElroy, Equality NM
  • State Representative Luciano "Lucky" Varela,  Santa Fe County, Deputy Chair, Appropriations and Finance Committee

September 16, 2011 at 09:40 AM in Economy, Populism, Events, Jobs, Labor, NM Legislature Redistricting 2011, Susana Martinez | Permalink